Wuhan University (WHU) is a comprehensive and key national university directly under the administration of the Ministry of Education. It is also one of the "211 Project" and "985 Project" universities with full support in the construction and development from the central and local government of China.The history of Wuhan University can be traced back to Ziqiang Institute, which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong, the then governor of Hubei Province and Hunan Province in the late Qing Dynasty.

Chronological Table
  • 1893Ziqiang Institute
  • 1913National Wuchang Higher Normal College
  • 1924National Wuchang University
  • 1928Wuhan National University
  • 1902Foreign Languages Institute
  • 1923National Wuchang Normal University
  • 1926National Wuchang Zhongshan University
  • 1949Wuhan University